Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_top position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_bottom position below the menu.

Sample Sidebar Module

This is a sample module published to the sidebar_bottom position, using the -sidebar module class suffix. There is also a sidebar_top position below the search.
Leadership Awards
2018 marked an important milestone for Leadership Greater Madison (LGM) — 25 years of educating and training community leaders. LGM grads are active in countless ways and make a difference every day. Throughout 2018, LGM celebrated the myriad contributions of graduates and planned ahead for many more years of exceptional leadership training.

To commemorate the special celebration, more than 80 program graduates from nearly every class gathered in October 2018 to celebrate the collective impact of LGM and to recognize some exemplary alumni.

Back in 1994 three organizations — the Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce, the Madison Community Foundation and the United Way of Dane County — helped launch LGM. To date, more than 750 participants from dozens and dozens of local businesses and organizations have graduated from the program and are making a difference in the community.

At the LGM 25th Reunion celebration, a number of graduates were recognized for their lasting community contributions as the first Leadership Legacy Awards and Distinguished Leader Awards were announced.

Legacy Award recipients personify the mission of LGM through their dedication to enhancing the community; fostering effective collaborations and partnerships; serving as role models to others; and demonstrating the highest levels of integrity and ethical behavior.

Seven graduates were recognized for their lifetime leadership with Leadership Legacy awards and, in their honor, the LGM Alumni Association contributed $700 in the LGM fund at the Madison Community Foundation. Leadership Legacy Award Recipients include:
  • Dave Beck-Engel (LGM03), President of J.H. Findorff and Sons, Inc.
  • Alex Gee (LGM01), President and Founder of Nehemiah Corp
  • Steve Goldberg (LGM11), retired from CUNA Mutual Group Foundation
  • Neil Heinen (LGM02), Editorial Director at WISC-TV
  • Sally Martyniak (LGM06), President of Forward Community Investments
  • Annette Miller (LGM08), Founder and CEO of EQT by design
  • Oscar Mireles (LGM02), Executive Director of Omega School Inc.

Distinguished Leadership Awards recognize exceptional commitment and leadership in three areas — civic impact, social impact and economic impact. The 2018 Distinguished Leadership award recipients are:
  • CIVIC IMPACT — Shiva Bidar-Sielaff (LGM14), Chief Diversity Officer with UW Health and Madison Common Council Alder
  • SOCIAL IMPACT — Sandy Morales (LGM22), CEO, Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Dane County
  • ECONOMIC IMPACT — B.J. Pfeiffer (LGM09), President of Enterprise Solutions

In addition to recognition for these individuals, the LGM Alumni Association made a $100 contribution to the organization of each Distinguished Leader Award Recipient’s choosing. Donations were awarded to:
  • The Odyssey Project, on behalf of B.J. Pfeiffer
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters of Dane County, on behalf of Sandy Morales
  • The Latino Health Council, on behalf of Shiva Bidar-Sielaff

To inquire about nominating someone for the Legacy of Leadership or Distinguished Leader awards, please contact Program Director Lynn Wood at or 608-280-7511.
LGM c/o Greater Madison Chamber of Commerce
1 S. Pinckney, Suite 330
Madison, WI 53703

Room Booking

Thanks for staying with us! Please fill out the form below and our staff will be in contact with your shortly.